Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-DK-26-310 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Diabetes Research Centers (P30 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $1,000,000
Expected awards
~7
Application deadline
Jan 27, 2027
Posted
Dec 5, 2025
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) invites applications for Diabetes Research Centers (DRCs) that are designed to support and enhance the national research effort in diabetes, its complications, and related endocrine and metabolic diseases. The purpose of this Centers program is to bring together basic and clinical investigators to enhance communication, multidisciplinary collaboration, and effectiveness of ongoing research in Diabetes Research Center topic areas. By providing shared access to specialized technical resources (research cores) and supporting a Pilot and Feasibility Program (P&F), DRCs are intended to create an environment that provides the capability for accomplishments greater than those that would be possible by individual research project grant support alone. New Center programs that bring in diverse perspectives, propose unique scientific themes, or provide innovative resources are encouraged. Emphasis will be placed on Center programs that propose enhanced synergies with other NIDDK-funded programs as well as providing a rich mentoring environment for future diabetes researchers.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.847 · Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Diseases Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.847), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 616 $537,141 $153,319 – $771,172
FY 2025 659 $730,832 $270,038 – $1,572,806
FY 2024 929
FY 2023 961
FY 2022 975
FY 2021 1,012

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $1,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,152 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,506), Nonprofit (1,046), Business (356) of 5,152 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (137) · NY (98) · MA (84) · PA (74) · TX (64)
Largest recent awards
  1. BECKMAN RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF THE CITY OF HOPE $6,282,406 · FY 2026
  2. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,583,712 · FY 2026
  3. RECTOR & VISITORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA $5,180,852 · FY 2026
  4. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $4,764,127 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH FLORIDA $4,640,761 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026