Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RD-RBS-26-03-MPPEP · Rural Business-Cooperative Service

Open

MPPEP Phase 3 Invasive Wild-Caught Catfish

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$50,000 – $2,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Dec 7, 2026
Posted
Sep 8, 2026
Last verified
Today

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
Official description from grants.gov

The Meat and Poultry Processing Expansion Program (MPPEP) provides grants to help eligible meat and poultry processors expand their capacity, which creates new, better and more processing options for meat and poultry producers. The goal for MPPEP Phase 3 Round 2 is to support Processors of Invasive, Wild-Caught Catfish species by increasing Processing capacity and providing greater opportunity in this sector. Strategies that can fulfill the goal of this NOFO and ensure lasting impacts include projects to increase Processing capacity; increase Processing volume; elevate incomes for both fishers and Processors; and to provide fair wages, and new, stable and safe job opportunities at Processing facilities to increase economic development in rural communities.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Small businesses
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 10.381 · Meat and Poultry Processing Expansion Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (10.381), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $1,000,000 $1,000,000 – $1,000,000
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 0
FY 2023 36 $889,423 $0 – $6,421,758
FY 2022 0
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $2,000,000.

Top states IA (4) · NE (3) · CA (2) · MI (2) · MS (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. NEW HAMPSHIRE COMMUNITY LOAN FUND INC $64,000,000 · FY 2023
  2. RIVERBEND MEATS, LLC $25,000,000 · FY 2023
  3. WHOLESTONE FARMS II LLC $25,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. PRESTAGE FARMS OF SOUTH CAROLINA LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY $24,951,753 · FY 2023
  5. GREATER OMAHA PACKING CO INC $19,982,400 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 8, 2026