No. 14-579 · U.S. National Science Foundation
Facilitating Research at Predominantly Undergraduate Institutions:
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- No deadline listed
- Posted
- Jan 31, 2025
- Last verified
- 6 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program supports faculty research at predominantly undergraduate institutions, including undergraduate student involvement, and also supports Research Opportunity Awards for PUI faculty to work as visiting scientists with NSF-funded researchers at other institutions. Eligible applicants are accredited PUIs that award associate’s, bachelor’s, and/or master’s degrees in NSF-supported fields and have awarded 20 or fewer Ph.D./D.Sci. degrees in the previous two academic years; eligible PIs must be employed by or committed to an eligible PUI. RUI awards typically last 3 years, with individual investigator awards in recent years ranging from $75,000 to several hundred thousand dollars, and collaborative awards may be higher; ROA awards are typically up to $80,000 for 2 to 12 months. No cost-share is stated. Proposals must fit NSF program guidance and timelines, there is no single deadline, and RUI/ROA proposals are handled within NSF programs’ regular funding decisions; RUI proposals must identify a PUI as the primary place of performance, and most researchers must be at PUIs for RUI projects.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The Research in Undergraduate Institutions (RUI) and Research Opportunity Awards (ROA) funding opportunities support research by faculty members at predominantly undergraduate institutions (PUIs). RUI proposals support PUI faculty in research that engages them in their professional field(s), builds capacity for research at their home institution, and supports the integration of research and undergraduate education. ROAs similarly support PUI faculty research, but these awards typically allow faculty to work as visiting scientists at research-intensive organizations where they collaborate with other NSF-supported investigators. Eligible PUIs are accredited colleges and universities (including two-year community colleges) that award Associate's degrees, Bachelor's degrees, and/or Master's degrees in NSF-supported fields, but have awarded 20 or fewer Ph.D./D.Sci. degrees in all NSF-supported fields during the combined previous two academic years. All NSF directorates may support RUI and ROA funding activities. Funding for these awards is contained within research and education program allocations and not held as a separate allocation. RUI and ROA proposals are evaluated and funded by NSF programs in the disciplinary areas of the proposed research and are funded at their discretion. Prospective PIs should contact disciplinary program officers to identify specific NSF programs and to determine the feasibility and timing of RUI/ROA requests. General RUI/ROA points of contact are available through the website http://www.nsf.gov/crssprgm/rui_roa/contacts.jsp . 1. Research in Undergraduate Institutions (RUI). An RUI proposal may be: A request to support an individual research project or a collaborative research project involving PUI faculty and students at their own or other institutions. A request involving shared research instrumentation. 2. Research Opportunity Awards (ROA). The types of ROA opportunities include: A supplement to an existing NSF award to support ROA activities for PUI faculty. Requests to rebudget funds in an existing NSF award to support ROA activities for PUI faculty. Submission of a new collaborative proposal between a PUI and another institution(s), with a ROA component as a subaward or as part of a linked collaborative proposal.
Who can apply
- Others
“Eligible predominantly undergraduate institutions (PUIs) are accredited colleges and universities (including two-year community colleges)” — From the announcement
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 47.041 · Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 604 | $407,608 | $200,000 – $550,000 |
| FY 2025 | 1,537 | $389,666 | $282,237 – $549,621 |
| FY 2024 | 1,761 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,862 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,238 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 2,436 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.
- NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
- CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026
Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 762 | $299,931 | $121,337 – $500,000 |
| FY 2025 | 2,247 | $482,485 | $249,935 – $627,333 |
| FY 2024 | 2,571 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 2,745 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,640 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 2,567 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
- WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026
- AUBURN UNIVERSITY $2,998,544 · FY 2025
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $2,831,003 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026
Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 628 | $389,288 | $209,626 – $543,580 |
| FY 2025 | 920 | $368,108 | $202,000 – $593,558 |
| FY 2024 | 1,251 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,285 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,315 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,504 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,903 — award counts are complete.
- EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $59,141,331 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SAN DIEGO $6,457,844 · FY 2025
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
- CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,780,833 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF ROCHESTER $2,999,998 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026
Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,087 | $380,991 | $250,087 – $530,369 |
| FY 2025 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,919 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 2,178 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,045 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,910 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,699 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
- CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
- THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $9,000,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026
Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 573 | $566,575 | $308,334 – $894,239 |
| FY 2025 | 826 | $569,960 | $350,857 – $899,906 |
| FY 2024 | 1,075 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,137 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,240 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,243 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,094 — award counts are complete.
- WILLIAM MARSH RICE UNIVERSITY $2,600,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
- CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
- THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $2,000,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026
Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 113 | $528,600 | $237,499 – $775,500 |
| FY 2025 | 559 | $210,247 | $37,874 – $406,540 |
| FY 2024 | 839 | $193,570 | $94,373 – $399,241 |
| FY 2023 | 869 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 895 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 958 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,233 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
- UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $8,399,997 · FY 2024
- NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
- ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY $6,430,848 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026
Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 542 | $400,000 | $193,868 – $750,000 |
| FY 2025 | 805 | $632,661 | $336,311 – $1,300,000 |
| FY 2024 | 1,421 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,305 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,344 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,191 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,608 — award counts are complete.
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $31,161,280 · FY 2026
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $23,000,000 · FY 2026
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $16,902,789 · FY 2025
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $15,387,498 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $14,088,417 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026
Assistance listing 47.079 · Office of International Science and Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.079), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 54 | $402,500 | $206,285 – $597,486 |
| FY 2025 | 110 | $443,613 | $274,824 – $478,396 |
| FY 2024 | 127 | $344,984 | $263,421 – $512,493 |
| FY 2023 | 128 | $281,771 | $150,000 – $417,907 |
| FY 2022 | 107 | $299,888 | $162,654 – $678,098 |
| FY 2021 | 127 | $299,945 | $200,596 – $398,431 |
- INTERNAT HUMAN FRONTIER SCIENCE PROGRAMM $33,000,000 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $25,200,000 · FY 2023
- AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE $22,676,043 · FY 2022
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $20,210,752 · FY 2021
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $20,203,733 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026
Assistance listing 47.083 · Integrative Activities
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.083), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 202 | $393,157 | $294,209 – $900,000 |
| FY 2025 | 388 | $481,647 | $269,767 – $887,105 |
| FY 2024 | 700 | $495,028 | $298,038 – $943,263 |
| FY 2023 | 700 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 477 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 151 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,618 — award counts are complete.
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $28,999,998 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $22,294,445 · FY 2024
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $19,998,055 · FY 2024
- UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA $19,982,835 · FY 2025
- ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 380 | $304,939 | $50,000 – $1,240,759 |
| FY 2025 | 931 | $305,000 | $77,375 – $1,120,119 |
| FY 2024 | 1,061 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,118 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 642 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 289 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,421 — award counts are complete.
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA BOARD OF TRUSTEES $20,000,000 · FY 2026
- ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
- CORNELL UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2025
- OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 6, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced