Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 24-598 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Mid-scale Research Infrastructure-1

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“"Full proposals are to be submitted only if/when invited by NSF."” — From the announcement
Award range
$4,000,000 – $19,999,999
Expected awards
~10
Application deadline
Feb 8, 2027
Posted
Aug 20, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds mid-scale research infrastructure projects that address community-defined U.S. research needs, including implementation projects and design activities. Implementation projects must have total costs of at least $4 million and less than $20 million, while design activities may request from $400,000 up to less than $20 million. Eligible applicants are U.S.-based institutions of higher education, certain nonprofit organizations, and qualifying consortia; for-profit companies may only participate as subaward partners, not as lead applicants. The program does not fund general research, operations or maintenance, broad outreach, campus- or local-scale infrastructure, or projects outside the stated cost limits, and it generally expects projects to serve a wide community with public access to data. The solicitation does not state a required cost share, and it includes restrictions on proposals that would augment ongoing NSF major facilities or Mid-scale RI-2 construction projects.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Educators & Health/Public-Service Workforce
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

NSF-supported science and engineering research increasingly relies on cutting-edge infrastructure. With its Major Research Instrumentation (MRI) program and Major Multi-user Facilities ("Major Facilities") projects, NSF supports infrastructure projects at the lower and higher range of infrastructure project costs, Foundation-wide, across science and engineering research disciplines. The Foundation-wide Mid-scale Research Infrastructure opportunity is intended to provide NSF with an agile, Foundation-wide process to fund experimental research capabilities in the mid-scale range between MRI and Major Multi-user Facilities. NSF defines Research Infrastructure (RI) as any combination of facilities, equipment, instrumentation, or computational hardware or software, and the necessary human capital in support of the same. Major facilities and mid-scale projects are subsets of research infrastructure. The NSF Mid-scale Research Infrastructure-1 Program (Mid-scale RI-1) supports either design activities or implementation of unique and compelling RI projects. Mid-scale implementation projects may include any combination of equipment, instrumentation, cyberinfrastructure, broadly used large scale datasets and the personnel needed to successfully commission the project. Mid-scale RI-1 design activities include the design efforts intended to lead to eventual implementation of a mid-scale class RI project. Mid-scale RI-1 projects should involve the training of a diverse workforce engaged in the design and implementation of STEM research infrastructure. Mid-scale RI-1 projects should directly enable advances in any of the research domains supported by NSF. Projects may also include upgrades to existing research infrastructure. Mid-scale RI-1 emphasizes strong scientific merit, a response to an identified need of the research community and/or fulfillment of a national need to enable U.S. researchers to be competitive in a global research environment. Well-conceived technical and management plans are essential for both design and implementation proposals, as are well-developed plans (e.g., mentoring and professional development) for student training and the involvement of a diverse STEM workforce in all aspects of mid-scale design and/or implementation activities. The inclusion of individual project participants that will lead to a supportive working environment is especially encouraged at all levels of the project team. Within Mid-scale RI-1, proposers may submit two types of projects, “Implementation” (e.g., acquisition and/or construction) or “Design”. The “Design” track is intended to facilitate progress toward readiness for a mid-scale range implementation project. Both Implementation projects and Design activities may involve new or upgraded research infrastructure. Mid-scale RI-1 "Implementation" projects may have a total project cost ranging from $4 million up to but not including $20 million. Mid-scale RI-1 "Design" activities may request less than $4 million, with a minimum request of $400,000 and a maximum request up to but not including $20 million, as appropriate, to prepare for a future mid-scale range implementation project. Note: Successful award of a Mid-scale RI-1 design activity does not imply NSF's commitment to the future implementation of the project being designed, nor is a Mid-scale RI-1 design award required for the submission of an implementation project. The Mid-scale RI-1 Program seeks to broaden the representation of PIs and institutions in its award portfolio, including a geographically diverse set of institutions (especially those in EPSCoR jurisdictions). Proposals submitted by, or involving partnerships between institutions are encouraged. Participation in this opportunity is encouraged for the full spectrum of diverse talent society has to offer to include PIs who are women, early-career researchers, persons with disabilities, or members of other groups underrepresented in STEM. To improve participation in science and engineering research for persons with disabilities, Mid-scale RI-1 encourages PIs to incorporate accessibility as part of Mid-scale RI-1 design activity and implementation projects. Please consult NSF's Research Infrastructure Guide, or RIG (available at https://www.nsf.gov/bfa/lfo/lfo_documents.jsp ), for definitions of certain terms used in this solicitation, such as the Project Execution Plan (PEP) and Design and Execution Plan (DEP). The RIG provides guidance specific to Mid-scale Research Infrastructure Projects, including references to other parts of the RIG as needed. Note that PEP or DEP should be appropriately scaled for the complexity of the project and may not require all of the elements described in the RIG. Mid-scale research infrastructure projects with total project costs beyond the Mid-scale RI-1 Program limit are separately solicited through the Mid-scale RI-2 Program. Proposals to the Mid-scale RI-1 Program with total project costs outside of this solicitation's budgetary limits, either during initial submission or after cost analyses/revisions during subsequent review, are subject to return without further review.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  2. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026
  4. AUBURN UNIVERSITY $2,998,544 · FY 2025
  5. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $2,831,003 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 628 $389,288 $209,626 – $543,580
FY 2025 920 $368,108 $202,000 – $593,558
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,315
FY 2021 1,504

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,903 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,113), Business (451), Individuals (140) of 6,903 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (123) · NY (77) · TX (73) · MA (69) · CO (33)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $59,141,331 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SAN DIEGO $6,457,844 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,780,833 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF ROCHESTER $2,999,998 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,087 $380,991 $250,087 – $530,369
FY 2025 1,560
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,178
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,699 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (10,321), Business (187), State government (6) of 10,699 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (95) · NY (70) · PA (62) · TX (61) · MA (58)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 573 $566,575 $308,334 – $894,239
FY 2025 826 $569,960 $350,857 – $899,906
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,094 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,049), Business (490), Individuals (460) of 6,094 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (108) · NY (78) · TX (44) · NC (24) · FL (23)
Largest recent awards
  1. WILLIAM MARSH RICE UNIVERSITY $2,600,000 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  3. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $2,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 113 $528,600 $237,499 – $775,500
FY 2025 559 $210,247 $37,874 – $406,540
FY 2024 839 $193,570 $94,373 – $399,241
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,233 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,837), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,233 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (107) · NY (89) · TX (77) · MA (74) · IL (51)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $8,399,997 · FY 2024
  3. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  4. ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY $6,430,848 · FY 2026
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 542 $400,000 $193,868 – $750,000
FY 2025 805 $632,661 $336,311 – $1,300,000
FY 2024 1,421
FY 2023 1,305
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,608 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,882), Business (367), Tribal government (20) of 6,608 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (80) · TX (75) · NY (61) · IL (25) · NC (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $31,161,280 · FY 2026
  2. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $23,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $16,902,789 · FY 2025
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $15,387,498 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $14,088,417 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.079 · Office of International Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.079), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 54 $402,500 $206,285 – $597,486
FY 2025 110 $443,613 $274,824 – $478,396
FY 2024 127 $344,984 $263,421 – $512,493
FY 2023 128 $281,771 $150,000 – $417,907
FY 2022 107 $299,888 $162,654 – $678,098
FY 2021 127 $299,945 $200,596 – $398,431

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Who wins it Higher education (613), Business (23), Individuals (2) of 653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (62) · NY (48) · TX (37) · PA (24) · FL (14)
Largest recent awards
  1. INTERNAT HUMAN FRONTIER SCIENCE PROGRAMM $33,000,000 · FY 2025
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $25,200,000 · FY 2023
  3. AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE $22,676,043 · FY 2022
  4. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $20,210,752 · FY 2021
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY $20,203,733 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.083 · Integrative Activities

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.083), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 202 $393,157 $294,209 – $900,000
FY 2025 388 $481,647 $269,767 – $887,105
FY 2024 700 $495,028 $298,038 – $943,263
FY 2023 700
FY 2022 477
FY 2021 151

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,618 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,480), Business (87), Individuals (8) of 2,618 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AL (58) · LA (38) · CA (29) · MS (20) · NM (20)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $28,999,998 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $22,294,445 · FY 2024
  3. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $19,998,055 · FY 2024
  4. UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA $19,982,835 · FY 2025
  5. ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 380 $304,939 $50,000 – $1,240,759
FY 2025 931 $305,000 $77,375 – $1,120,119
FY 2024 1,061
FY 2023 1,118
FY 2022 642
FY 2021 289

For comparison, this notice advertises $4,000,000 – $19,999,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,421 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,479), Business (1,842), Individuals (2) of 4,421 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (141) · NY (79) · MA (70) · TX (58) · PA (27)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA BOARD OF TRUSTEES $20,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
  3. CORNELL UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 6, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced