Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 25-533 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Findable Accessible Interoperable Reusable Open Science

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~10
Application deadline
Apr 14, 2027
Posted
Jan 7, 2025
Last verified
Today

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds projects that advance FAIR research data management and open science, including data sharing, curation, interoperability, sustainability, and related cyberinfrastructure across disciplines. Eligible applicants include U.S. institutions of higher education, U.S. non-profit non-academic organizations, tribal nations, and some other federal agencies and FFRDCs. Awards are standard continuing grants, with an expected 4 to 10 awards total and a total funding range of $2.4 million to $6 million; individual research requests may be up to $600,000 for up to 3 years and no more than $200,000 per year. There are no cost-share requirements stated, and each individual may participate on only one FAIROS submission per deadline each year.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The FAIROS Program seeks to support a broad range of transformative open science activities including but not limited to i.) Research, education, and socio-technical cyberinfrastructure development capacities that advance sustainable multi-disciplinary findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable (FAIR) research data management (RDM) and open science capabilities, ii.) Piloting new models of scientific communication and publication that improve efficiency and accessibility, iii.) Developing FAIROS data portals, research data commons, RDM as a national service, and iv.) Lowering barriers to accessing, curating, integrating, linking, managing, sharing, and storing data across many disciplinary domains, irrespective of data size. The program supports innovation across the cyberinfrastructure (CI) ecosystem to address accessibility, data curation, research data management, discoverability, reliability, reproducibility, preservation, sustainability, and utility of research products, including data software, and code, developed as part of funded projects. FAIROS proposals must select one of two tracks to focus on, either: 1) Disciplinary Improvements to targeted scientific communities, or 2) Cross-Cutting Improvements that apply to many or most scientific disciplines. In the case of proposals focused on Disciplinary Improvements, it is strongly recommended that prospective PIs contact a program officer from the list of Cognizant Program Officers in the directorate closest to the major disciplinary impact of the proposed work to ascertain that the scientific focus and budget of the proposed work are appropriate for this solicitation. In the case of proposals focused on Cross-Cutting Improvements, it is strongly recommended that prospective PIs contact the cognizant program officer from the Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC). After selecting either Disciplinary Improvements or Cross-Cutting Improvements in which to focus research, the proposal must include the kinds of activities relevant to the selected track. Standard research proposals are the only type of proposal accepted in response to this solicitation. The FAIROS Program is undertaken in support of the US NSF Public Access Initiative. For more information on the US NSF Public Access Initiative please visit https://new.nsf.gov/public-access .

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  2. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026
  4. AUBURN UNIVERSITY $2,998,544 · FY 2025
  5. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $2,831,003 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 628 $389,288 $209,626 – $543,580
FY 2025 920 $368,108 $202,000 – $593,558
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,315
FY 2021 1,504

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,903 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,113), Business (451), Individuals (140) of 6,903 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (123) · NY (77) · TX (73) · MA (69) · CO (33)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $59,141,331 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SAN DIEGO $6,457,844 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,780,833 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF ROCHESTER $2,999,998 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,087 $380,991 $250,087 – $530,369
FY 2025 1,560
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,178
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,699 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (10,321), Business (187), State government (6) of 10,699 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (95) · NY (70) · PA (62) · TX (61) · MA (58)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 573 $566,575 $308,334 – $894,239
FY 2025 826 $569,960 $350,857 – $899,906
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,094 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,049), Business (490), Individuals (460) of 6,094 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (108) · NY (78) · TX (44) · NC (24) · FL (23)
Largest recent awards
  1. WILLIAM MARSH RICE UNIVERSITY $2,600,000 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  3. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $2,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 113 $528,600 $237,499 – $775,500
FY 2025 559 $210,247 $37,874 – $406,540
FY 2024 839 $193,570 $94,373 – $399,241
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,233 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,837), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,233 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (107) · NY (89) · TX (77) · MA (74) · IL (51)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $8,399,997 · FY 2024
  3. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  4. ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY $6,430,848 · FY 2026
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 542 $400,000 $193,868 – $750,000
FY 2025 805 $632,661 $336,311 – $1,300,000
FY 2024 1,421
FY 2023 1,305
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,608 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,882), Business (367), Tribal government (20) of 6,608 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (80) · TX (75) · NY (61) · IL (25) · NC (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $31,161,280 · FY 2026
  2. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $23,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $16,902,789 · FY 2025
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $15,387,498 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $14,088,417 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.079 · Office of International Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.079), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 54 $402,500 $206,285 – $597,486
FY 2025 110 $443,613 $274,824 – $478,396
FY 2024 127 $344,984 $263,421 – $512,493
FY 2023 128 $281,771 $150,000 – $417,907
FY 2022 107 $299,888 $162,654 – $678,098
FY 2021 127 $299,945 $200,596 – $398,431
Who wins it Higher education (613), Business (23), Individuals (2) of 653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (62) · NY (48) · TX (37) · PA (24) · FL (14)
Largest recent awards
  1. INTERNAT HUMAN FRONTIER SCIENCE PROGRAMM $33,000,000 · FY 2025
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $25,200,000 · FY 2023
  3. AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE $22,676,043 · FY 2022
  4. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $20,210,752 · FY 2021
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY $20,203,733 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.083 · Integrative Activities

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.083), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 202 $393,157 $294,209 – $900,000
FY 2025 388 $481,647 $269,767 – $887,105
FY 2024 700 $495,028 $298,038 – $943,263
FY 2023 700
FY 2022 477
FY 2021 151

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,618 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,480), Business (87), Individuals (8) of 2,618 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AL (58) · LA (38) · CA (29) · MS (20) · NM (20)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $28,999,998 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $22,294,445 · FY 2024
  3. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $19,998,055 · FY 2024
  4. UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA $19,982,835 · FY 2025
  5. ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 380 $304,939 $50,000 – $1,240,759
FY 2025 931 $305,000 $77,375 – $1,120,119
FY 2024 1,061
FY 2023 1,118
FY 2022 642
FY 2021 289

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,421 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,479), Business (1,842), Individuals (2) of 4,421 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (141) · NY (79) · MA (70) · TX (58) · PA (27)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA BOARD OF TRUSTEES $20,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
  3. CORNELL UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 6, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced