Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-27-096 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Grants for Early Medical/Surgical Specialists' Transition to Aging Research (GEMSSTAR) (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $125,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jul 16, 2028
Posted
Sep 1, 2026
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Older Adults & Family Caregivers
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Aging, Dementia & Caregiving
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The goal of the Grants for Early Medical/Surgical Specialists' Transition to Aging Research (GEMSSTAR) program is to provide support for early-career clinician-scientists trained in medical or surgical specialties to launch careers as future leaders in aging- or geriatric-focused research. In support of the program's goal, this GEMSSTAR Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) invites applications that propose to conduct transdisciplinary aging research that will yield pilot data and experience for subsequent aging research projects. The GEMSSTAR program encourages candidates to seek out a supportive research environment to further the program's objectives of fostering the development of early-career clinician-scientists in aging- or geriatric-focused research, particularly as it applies to their clinical specialty/discipline. Toward this end, GEMSSTAR candidates should include a Professional Development Plan that reflects this supportive research environment. In selecting GEMSSTAR recipients, the National Institute on Aging (NIA) will consider the extent to which a candidate's environment is supportive of aging- or geriatric-focused research.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 155 $429,000 $306,500 – $571,863
FY 2025 277 $429,000 $310,295 – $829,259
FY 2024 301 $491,193 $310,985 – $1,283,003
FY 2023 320 $444,000 $298,673 – $1,756,575
FY 2022 295
FY 2021 305

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,224), Nonprofit (242), Business (71) of 1,653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · PA (83) · MA (82) · NY (70) · TX (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
  3. RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
  4. DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.307 · Minority Health and Health Disparities Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.307), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 40 $768,076 $248,928 – $851,492
FY 2025 57 $604,863 $333,504 – $1,512,644
FY 2024 182 $465,783 $308,121 – $1,983,267
FY 2023 212 $1,299,549 $438,782 – $2,594,510
FY 2022 249 $1,408,033 $444,695 – $2,988,012
FY 2021 168 $2,071,562 $431,619 – $3,273,896

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Who wins it Higher education (660), Nonprofit (111), Business (97) of 908 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (114) · NY (92) · MA (45) · TX (45) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $40,426,614 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $30,744,792 · FY 2021
  3. CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES $27,816,472 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $27,671,310 · FY 2021
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $24,809,662 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.361 · Nursing Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.361), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 53 $732,795 $180,941 – $1,130,466
FY 2025 62 $675,031 $385,758 – $1,535,483
FY 2024 98 $473,202 $285,582 – $1,868,705
FY 2023 102 $758,157 $158,307 – $2,468,665
FY 2022 118 $493,973 $295,328 – $2,431,395
FY 2021 108 $478,145 $361,349 – $2,696,899

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Who wins it Higher education (429), Nonprofit (54), Business (33) of 541 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (48) · CA (35) · MD (32) · PA (31) · OH (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $13,344,757 · FY 2022
  2. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $8,282,292 · FY 2021
  3. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $4,547,851 · FY 2023
  4. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $4,495,943 · FY 2024
  5. BRIGHAM & WOMENS HOSPITAL INC $4,358,664 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 3, 2026 Eligibility text updated
  2. Sep 3, 2026 Award ceiling set: $125,000
  3. Sep 2, 2026 Title updated
  4. Sep 2, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  5. Sep 2, 2026 Deadline set: Jul 16, 2028