No. RFA-MH-26-170 · National Institutes of Health
BRAIN Initiative: Development and Validation of Novel Tools to Probe Cell-Specific and Circuit-Specific Processes in the Brain (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Feb 8, 2027
- Posted
- Nov 15, 2024
- Last verified
- 6 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds the development and validation of new tools and technologies to study specific cell types and circuits in the brain, with an emphasis on non-invasive or minimally invasive methods. Eligible applicants include universities, nonprofits, for-profit organizations, small businesses, governments, tribal governments, federal agencies, foreign organizations, and other listed entities; foreign components are allowed. NIH expects to fund about 6 to 9 awards with a total of about $8 million, and application budgets are not limited but must fit the project needs. There is no cost sharing requirement. Clinical trials are not allowed, and the maximum project period is 3 years.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The purpose of this Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Initiative is to encourage applications that will develop and validate novel tools to facilitate the detailed analysis of complex circuits and provide insights into cellular interactions that underlie brain function. The new tools and technologies should inform and/or exploit cell-type and/or circuit-level specificity. Plans for validating the utility of the tool/technology will be an essential feature of a successful application. The development of new genetic and non-genetic tools for delivering genes, proteins and chemicals to cells of interest or approaches that are expected to target specific cell types and/or circuits in the nervous system with greater precision and sensitivity than currently established methods are encouraged. Tools that can be used in a number of species/model organisms rather than those restricted to a single species are highly desired. Applications that provide approaches that break through existing technical barriers to substantially improve current capabilities are highly encouraged.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 170 | $416,419 | $134,042 – $648,731 |
| FY 2025 | 238 | $418,797 | $187,647 – $1,008,401 |
| FY 2024 | 283 | $464,268 | $152,978 – $1,268,772 |
| FY 2023 | 260 | $689,002 | $272,758 – $1,868,608 |
| FY 2022 | 286 | $570,000 | $145,264 – $2,113,099 |
| FY 2021 | 246 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 58 | $441,813 | $190,230 – $676,906 |
| FY 2025 | 51 | $472,500 | $321,065 – $1,329,943 |
| FY 2024 | 100 | $562,397 | $286,558 – $1,285,052 |
| FY 2023 | 92 | $695,557 | $380,313 – $1,709,004 |
| FY 2022 | 94 | $715,153 | $419,983 – $1,985,928 |
| FY 2021 | 92 | $1,686,420 | $625,217 – $3,082,386 |
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
- THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
- THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026
Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 685 | $450,175 | $166,962 – $799,127 |
| FY 2025 | 600 | $987,843 | $427,193 – $1,695,032 |
| FY 2024 | 883 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 898 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 987 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 945 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,998 — award counts are complete.
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $24,765,147 · FY 2025
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026
Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 184 | $402,938 | $173,631 – $648,788 |
| FY 2025 | 175 | $497,661 | $311,150 – $1,290,396 |
| FY 2024 | 238 | $456,041 | $156,782 – $1,152,589 |
| FY 2023 | 328 | $667,361 | $350,624 – $1,893,194 |
| FY 2022 | 314 | $1,716,398 | $413,174 – $2,854,878 |
| FY 2021 | 274 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,513 — award counts are complete.
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $49,287,017 · FY 2022
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $17,455,711 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $12,536,957 · FY 2023
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $12,114,859 · FY 2024
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $6,476,031 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026
Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 428 | $422,523 | $183,034 – $700,682 |
| FY 2025 | 588 | $709,054 | $348,214 – $1,489,059 |
| FY 2024 | 714 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 724 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 740 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 606 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.
- FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
- BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
- REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
- WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 127 | $276,000 | $117,190 – $583,962 |
| FY 2025 | 240 | $555,997 | $296,281 – $1,161,259 |
| FY 2024 | 231 | $589,216 | $349,987 – $1,434,349 |
| FY 2023 | 252 | $652,889 | $409,140 – $1,745,975 |
| FY 2022 | 303 | $691,306 | $420,665 – $2,168,108 |
| FY 2021 | 285 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
- WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 386 | $392,826 | $79,188 – $593,582 |
| FY 2025 | 665 | $452,972 | $178,000 – $1,225,547 |
| FY 2024 | 785 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 835 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 799 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 764 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
- GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
- RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $4,453,239 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 189 | $440,263 | $132,837 – $633,742 |
| FY 2025 | 309 | $464,903 | $260,661 – $1,026,742 |
| FY 2024 | 408 | $630,967 | $342,920 – $1,431,708 |
| FY 2023 | 401 | $771,099 | $422,359 – $1,867,311 |
| FY 2022 | 391 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 394 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SANTA CRUZ $3,712,398 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026