Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 23-598 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~35
Application deadline
Oct 20, 2026
Posted
Jun 8, 2023
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds research by faculty researchers at accredited Historically Black Colleges and Universities in science, engineering, math, education research, and other NSF-supported fields. It is meant to strengthen connections between HBCU researchers and NSF core research programs, with the goal of helping them later apply for regular NSF disciplinary funding. Proposals may only be submitted by accredited HBCUs, and the principal investigator must be a full-time faculty member or researcher at the submitting HBCU. NSF expects about 30 to 35 awards with total funding of $28 million, and the award type may be a standard grant or continuing grant. There are no proposal limits by organization, but an individual may serve on only one proposal per deadline and no more than two HBCU-EiR awards in their career.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research (HBCU-EiR) program was established in response to direction provided in the Senate Commerce and Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee Report (Senate Report 115-139), and is built on prior and continuing efforts by the National Science Foundation (NSF) to strengthen research capacity at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). This report provided guidance to NSF to establish the HBCU Excellence in Research program "to provide opportunities for both public and private HBCUs, particularly for those who have not been successful in larger NSF Research & Related Activities competitions, in order to stimulate sustainable improvement in their research and development capacity" ( https://congress.gov/congressional-report/115th-congress/senate-report/139/1 ). EiR supports such capacity building by funding research projects aligned with NSF's research programs. The program aims to establish stronger connections between researchers at HBCUs and NSF's research programs.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: HBCU
“Proposals may only be submitted by accredited Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) that have faculty members who conduct research in science and/or engineering and/or STEM education.” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  2. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026
  4. AUBURN UNIVERSITY $2,998,544 · FY 2025
  5. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $2,831,003 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 628 $389,288 $209,626 – $543,580
FY 2025 920 $368,108 $202,000 – $593,558
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,315
FY 2021 1,504

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,903 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,113), Business (451), Individuals (140) of 6,903 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (123) · NY (77) · TX (73) · MA (69) · CO (33)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $59,141,331 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SAN DIEGO $6,457,844 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,780,833 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF ROCHESTER $2,999,998 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,087 $380,991 $250,087 – $530,369
FY 2025 1,560
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,178
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,699 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (10,321), Business (187), State government (6) of 10,699 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (95) · NY (70) · PA (62) · TX (61) · MA (58)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 573 $566,575 $308,334 – $894,239
FY 2025 826 $569,960 $350,857 – $899,906
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,094 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,049), Business (490), Individuals (460) of 6,094 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (108) · NY (78) · TX (44) · NC (24) · FL (23)
Largest recent awards
  1. WILLIAM MARSH RICE UNIVERSITY $2,600,000 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  3. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $2,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 113 $528,600 $237,499 – $775,500
FY 2025 559 $210,247 $37,874 – $406,540
FY 2024 839 $193,570 $94,373 – $399,241
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,233 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,837), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,233 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (107) · NY (89) · TX (77) · MA (74) · IL (51)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $8,399,997 · FY 2024
  3. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  4. ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY $6,430,848 · FY 2026
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 542 $400,000 $193,868 – $750,000
FY 2025 805 $632,661 $336,311 – $1,300,000
FY 2024 1,421
FY 2023 1,305
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,608 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,882), Business (367), Tribal government (20) of 6,608 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (80) · TX (75) · NY (61) · IL (25) · NC (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $31,161,280 · FY 2026
  2. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $23,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $16,902,789 · FY 2025
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $15,387,498 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $14,088,417 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.079 · Office of International Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.079), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 54 $402,500 $206,285 – $597,486
FY 2025 110 $443,613 $274,824 – $478,396
FY 2024 127 $344,984 $263,421 – $512,493
FY 2023 128 $281,771 $150,000 – $417,907
FY 2022 107 $299,888 $162,654 – $678,098
FY 2021 127 $299,945 $200,596 – $398,431
Who wins it Higher education (613), Business (23), Individuals (2) of 653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (62) · NY (48) · TX (37) · PA (24) · FL (14)
Largest recent awards
  1. INTERNAT HUMAN FRONTIER SCIENCE PROGRAMM $33,000,000 · FY 2025
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $25,200,000 · FY 2023
  3. AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE $22,676,043 · FY 2022
  4. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $20,210,752 · FY 2021
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY $20,203,733 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.083 · Integrative Activities

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.083), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 202 $393,157 $294,209 – $900,000
FY 2025 388 $481,647 $269,767 – $887,105
FY 2024 700 $495,028 $298,038 – $943,263
FY 2023 700
FY 2022 477
FY 2021 151

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,618 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,480), Business (87), Individuals (8) of 2,618 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AL (58) · LA (38) · CA (29) · MS (20) · NM (20)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $28,999,998 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $22,294,445 · FY 2024
  3. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $19,998,055 · FY 2024
  4. UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA $19,982,835 · FY 2025
  5. ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 380 $304,939 $50,000 – $1,240,759
FY 2025 931 $305,000 $77,375 – $1,120,119
FY 2024 1,061
FY 2023 1,118
FY 2022 642
FY 2021 289

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,421 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,479), Business (1,842), Individuals (2) of 4,421 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (141) · NY (79) · MA (70) · TX (58) · PA (27)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA BOARD OF TRUSTEES $20,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
  3. CORNELL UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 6, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced