Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526BCRPBTA122 · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 18, 2026
Posted
Sep 3, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Breast Cancer Research Program (BCRP) Breakthrough Award mechanism supports promising research with high potential to lead to or make breakthroughs in breast cancer. All applications must address at least one of the FY26 BCRP overarching challenges or provide adequate justification for exception. Applications must address the challenge in a way that can lead to a breakthrough and have major impact. The FY26 Breakthrough Award mechanism contains four different funding levels designed to support major (but not all) stages of research that will lead to clinical application. Each level specifies a distinct research scope. This program announcement discusses the Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2. Distinctive Features: * This funding mechanism allows for applications submitted under Funding Level 1 or Funding Level 2. Funding Level 2 also includes a Population Science Studies option. With compelling justification, population science studies may request higher levels of funding and an additional year in the period of performance. * This funding mechanism allows for a single Principal Investigator (PI), or two partnering PIs referred to as the Initiating PI and the Partnering PI. For the Partnering PI Option (PPIO), only the Initiating PI will submit a pre-application, but both PIs will need to submit at the full application stage. Be advised, failure to submit all associated (Initiating and Partnering PI) applications by the deadline may result in administrative withdrawal.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 4, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  2. Sep 4, 2026 Deadline set: Nov 18, 2026