No. PAR-27-065 · National Institutes of Health
NINDS Efficacy and Exploratory Clinical Trials (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Required)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Mar 9, 2029
- Posted
- Aug 31, 2026
- Last verified
- 5 days ago
At a glance
No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) encourages applications for investigator-initiated clinical trials to the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS). These trials must address questions within the mission and research interests of the NINDS and may include studies of small molecules, biologics, devices as well as surgical, behavioral, diet-based, or rehabilitation therapies. Studies addressing neurological diseases and care across the lifespan are highly encouraged. This notice invites both early- and middle-phase exploratory clinical trials as well as later phase confirmatory Phase 3 or comparative effectiveness clinical trials.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Sep 4, 2026 Eligibility text updated
- Sep 1, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
- Sep 1, 2026 Deadline set: Mar 9, 2029