No. PAR-24-260 · National Institutes of Health
Tribal Institutional Review Board Establishment and Enhancement (TIRBEE) (R24 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Not reimbursement-only
“"Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity."” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 27, 2027
- Posted
- Aug 12, 2024
- Last verified
- 2 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds work to establish or improve Tribal Institutional Review Boards in federally recognized Tribal communities, including staff, policies, systems, equipment, and training to support IRB oversight. Only federally recognized Tribes and certain Tribal entities, including consortia of them, may apply. Awards are grants, with budgets up to $350,000 in annual direct costs for up to 5 years. Cost sharing is not required. Foreign organizations may not apply, and foreign components are allowed only in the limited case described in the notice.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The purpose of the Tribal Institutional Review Board Establishment and Enhancement (TIRBEE) award is to support federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) Tribes, Tribal colleges and universities, Tribal health programs, or Tribal organizations(collectively, eligible Tribal entities) to establish Institutional Review Boards (IRBs) or enhance the capacity of existing Tribal IRBs.
Who can apply
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Others
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,048 | $420,000 | $325,870 – $487,506 |
| FY 2025 | 1,115 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,171 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,383 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,574 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,321 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026