Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-28-062 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Cancer Advancement through Partnerships in Research and Infrastructure (CAPRI) (U54 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~12
Application deadline
Jan 25, 2027
Posted
Aug 31, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Research & Discovery
  • General Public / Community-wide
  • Low-Income & Underserved Communities
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • Public Health, Prevention & Nutrition
Official description from grants.gov

This is a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for a Limited Competition that invites applications from eligible organizations to apply. Please see Section III. Eligibility for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the applications will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious applications will be considered for funding. This funding opportunity seeks to support the Cancer Advancement through Partnerships in Research and Infrastructure (CAPRI). The CAPRI Program establishes and strengthens comprehensive, mutually beneficial and meaningful partnerships between Resource Limited Institutions (RLIs) and NCI-designated Cancer Centers (CCs) to accelerate collaborative and innovative cancer. The Program achieves this by strategically building institutional capacity, advancing research capabilities, enhancing the impact of innovative cancer research, cultivating the next generation of Early-Stage Investigators and trainees, and implementing coordinated outreach and education initiatives that extend the benefits of research to all populations nationwide.

Who can apply

  • Independent school districts
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Faith-based organization
“Faith-based or Community-based Organizations” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 1 $2,490,206 $2,490,206 – $2,490,206
FY 2024 13 $3,165,783 $804,361 – $3,227,950
FY 2023 7 $1,121,797 $947,583 – $1,353,065
FY 2022 14 $4,573,965 $2,523,875 – $6,154,995
FY 2021 5 $3,186,801 $2,957,140 – $3,199,301
Who wins it Higher education (28), Nonprofit (8) of 40 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (5) · WA (5) · MI (3) · NY (3) · GA (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
  2. VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
  3. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
  4. THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 7, 2026 Eligibility text updated
  2. Sep 7, 2026 Award floor removed (was $850,000)
  3. Sep 1, 2026 Title updated
  4. Sep 1, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  5. Sep 1, 2026 Deadline set: Jan 25, 2027