Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-NS-27-002 · National Institutes of Health

Open

BRAIN Initiative: Integrative Team-Research BRAIN Circuits Program - iBCP (RM1 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $8,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jun 23, 2028
Posted
Aug 31, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) supports transdisciplinary research teams seeking to develop mechanistic, biologically grounded explanations of how neural circuits and their cellular building blocks give rise to central nervous system (CNS) function. Teams must integrate expertise spanning molecular and cellular through systems neuroscience, with strong collaboration between experimental and computational investigators, to bridge cells, circuits, and behavior in a unified framework that yields mechanistic insight.Applications must explicitly connect three core elements: (1) characterization of circuit components (e.g., cell types and/or connectivity); (2) measurement of dynamic circuit activity, incorporating in vivo CNS recordings at cellular and sub-second temporal resolution; and (3) analyses of a tractable behavior or functional output.To address this significant challenge in neuroscience, proposed studies are expected to leverage innovative conceptual or theoretical frameworks, predictive models, and/or cutting-edge approaches that unify these three levels of analysis and bridge experimental and computational components.Recipients are expected to participate in BRAIN consortia activities to identify standards of practice towards multi-level integration.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Faith-based organization
“Faith-based or Community-based Organizations” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 170 $416,419 $134,042 – $648,731
FY 2025 238 $418,797 $187,647 – $1,008,401
FY 2024 283 $464,268 $152,978 – $1,268,772
FY 2023 260 $689,002 $272,758 – $1,868,608
FY 2022 286 $570,000 $145,264 – $2,113,099
FY 2021 246

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,127), Nonprofit (192), Business (83) of 1,483 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (107) · CA (101) · NY (89) · PA (78) · MD (30)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
  4. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
  5. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 58 $441,813 $190,230 – $676,906
FY 2025 51 $472,500 $321,065 – $1,329,943
FY 2024 100 $562,397 $286,558 – $1,285,052
FY 2023 92 $695,557 $380,313 – $1,709,004
FY 2022 94 $715,153 $419,983 – $1,985,928
FY 2021 92 $1,686,420 $625,217 – $3,082,386

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Who wins it Higher education (342), Nonprofit (97), Business (33) of 487 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (77) · MA (59) · NY (29) · NC (12) · IL (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
  3. DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
  4. THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
  5. THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 685 $450,175 $166,962 – $799,127
FY 2025 600 $987,843 $427,193 – $1,695,032
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 987
FY 2021 945

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,998 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,666), Nonprofit (858), Business (222) of 4,998 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (175) · NY (134) · MA (106) · PA (85) · TX (31)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $24,765,147 · FY 2025
  2. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  4. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 184 $402,938 $173,631 – $648,788
FY 2025 175 $497,661 $311,150 – $1,290,396
FY 2024 238 $456,041 $156,782 – $1,152,589
FY 2023 328 $667,361 $350,624 – $1,893,194
FY 2022 314 $1,716,398 $413,174 – $2,854,878
FY 2021 274

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,513 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,164), Nonprofit (201), Business (79) of 1,513 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (111) · NC (65) · NY (56) · PA (44) · MA (23)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $49,287,017 · FY 2022
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $17,455,711 · FY 2023
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $12,536,957 · FY 2023
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $12,114,859 · FY 2024
  5. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $6,476,031 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 127 $276,000 $117,190 – $583,962
FY 2025 240 $555,997 $296,281 – $1,161,259
FY 2024 231 $589,216 $349,987 – $1,434,349
FY 2023 252 $652,889 $409,140 – $1,745,975
FY 2022 303 $691,306 $420,665 – $2,168,108
FY 2021 285

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,055), Nonprofit (237), Business (99) of 1,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (133) · MA (128) · NY (69) · PA (27) · NC (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
  2. ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
  4. WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.372 · 21st Century Cures Act - Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.372), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 15 $616,000 $560,712 – $727,254
FY 2025 50 $577,633 $276,956 – $1,343,284
FY 2024 44 $675,351 $250,312 – $1,703,077
FY 2023 101 $2,119,145 $696,394 – $3,708,508
FY 2022 58 $2,015,724 $818,440 – $2,963,723
FY 2021 60 $2,656,107 $757,035 – $4,107,143

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Who wins it Higher education (259), Nonprofit (37), Business (19) of 328 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (78) · NY (43) · MA (27) · TX (17) · WA (12)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $21,489,807 · FY 2023
  2. ALLEN INSTITUTE $18,975,021 · FY 2022
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $18,155,129 · FY 2021
  4. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $18,097,780 · FY 2021
  5. TRUSTEES OF BOSTON UNIVERSITY $13,360,986 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  4. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $4,453,239 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  3. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  4. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SANTA CRUZ $3,712,398 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 7, 2026 Eligibility text updated
  2. Sep 7, 2026 Award ceiling set: $8,000,000
  3. Sep 1, 2026 Title updated
  4. Sep 1, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  5. Sep 1, 2026 Deadline set: Jun 23, 2028