Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. USDA-NIFA-CBGP-011698 · National Institute of Food and Agriculture

Open

1890 Institution Teaching, Research, and Extension Capacity Building Grants Program

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$50,000 – $750,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 4, 2026
Posted
Sep 3, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
Official description from grants.gov

The 1890 CBG program, under Assistance Listing Number 10.216 is designed specifically to build the institutional teaching, research, and extension capacities of the eligible institutions through cooperative programs with Federal and non-Federal entities. The 1890 CBG Program supports Executive Order 14283 , “White House Initiative to Promote Excellence and Innovation at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU),” in order to foster excellence and innovation at HBCUs.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 10.216 · 1890 Institution Capacity Building Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (10.216), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 62 $521,578 $300,000 – $599,999
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 69 $499,135 $299,307 – $599,997
FY 2023 84 $366,075 $298,739 – $585,092
FY 2022 87 $249,742 $-474 – $499,999
FY 2021 124 $-1,838 $-17,211 – $299,986

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $750,000.

Who wins it Higher education (425) of 426 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AL (48) · NC (27) · WV (20) · FL (19) · TN (15)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA AGRICULTURAL AND TECHNICAL STATE UNIVERSITY $1,920,000 · FY 2022
  2. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $763,948 · FY 2024
  3. CENTRAL STATE UNIVERSITY $750,000 · FY 2024
  4. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $750,000 · FY 2024
  5. FORT VALLEY STATE UNIVERSITY $750,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026